Under a new sky – chapter 6

Note: this is a work of fiction, with all the usual stuff about copyright and permission. It’s also a work in progress and a way to develop my knowledge of the english language. So feel free to correct, debate, laugh, ask about it in the comments. Help appreciated.

You may find the prologue here.

Chapter 1 is here. Chapter 2 is here. Chapter 3 is here.

Chapter 4 is here. Chapter 5 is here.

Chapter six.

When I woke up for a few seconds I was sure that everything was nothing but a bad dream. Then I realized that I was stark naked and chained by my wrists to two bronze short poles. At my right there was Kellan , still unconscious and tied to a wooden chair. We were in a large and dark tent, the only source of light given by an oil lantern. An huge man was looking at me, a blond awesome giant dressed in a black leather armor embodied with gold.

big-chain

“Welcome back to the land of the living”

His voice was deep, with a note of sarcasm.

“You see, my duty is to kill people like you. To maintain our peace and avoid monsters to get loose in our country.”

He walked slowly around me until he was between me and Kellan.

“In a single night I found the way to stop a traitor like her and to capture an out-of-this-world stranger. My father, our beloved king, should be happy with that.”

With great care the man picked up something from a wooden box, it was my knife.

“You still do not understand, doesn’t you? You’re still shocked from the experience of getting here. Does this young and beautiful lady tell you anything about what’s going on? No?”

That bastard kicked me hard on my left upper leg, the pain was enough to clear my mind.

“Man, I don’t know squat about who the hell you are or what the hell you…”

He kicked me again. And again.

“Be quiet. You’re nothing but a tool. Just like her. A monster to get a throne, a maiden to win a bigger kingdom. It was worth the lives of my Hunters.”

He put my knife back in the box and fetched a glass vial from his belt.

“This is an essence of a flower that does not exists in your world. It’s one of the few things that can do something for you here.”

godblood

He keened down, next to my head. And forced that green moisture in my mouth. The taste was awful, I was going to puke. After a few seconds I was feeling really good, the pain and the anger suddenly gone from my body and my mind. That stuff was just great.

“You will call it a drug, I think. That was enough to stop dead a couple of horses, for you it’s just a dose. Remember that, I’m the only one that can give it to you again.”

Kellan was awoke. Her stare was nothing but hate to our captor, even in my shocked state that was easy to understand.

“My dear Kellan, I’m so happy you join us. Would you like a bit of godblood?”

She spat at him.

“Very well, it’s time for a little test. Guess what, you’re the bait.”

With a few movements he ripped off her clothes, leaving nothing but rags.

“What do you think about her brown man? Do you like her?”

I did. But I wasn’t able to speak at all, the drug I got before was doing wonders through my body.

“Don’t worry, you will recover soon. Godblood is a marvelous substance, a real gift of the Nature. Now, it’s time for you to understand more of the current situation. My Hunters caught you early this morning, no more than half an hour before sunset. We’re almost at dawn and today you will face our sun.”

He looked at me, his expression was a curious mix of anger and pity.

“You will change forever. Try your best to stay in control, to focus on your own mind. It’s the only hope you have to avoid madness. When I’ll give the order to my people they will open this tent. You have to remember three things.”

He moved back to the wooden box, picking up my Bowie.

“I will be here, ready to kill Lady Kellan if you try to attack me. That’s the first thing. Then you have to remember Godblood since a few hours from now you will need it like nothing before in your life. I own that stuff and this is the second thing. You have seen what steel does to us. Well, steel will be the only thing that can kill you. My archers got a lot of steel-tipped arrows ready for you. That’s the third thing.”

The giant set himself a step from Kellan, his cruel smile back on his lips.

“I hope you’re ready brown man. It’s time to meet our sun”.

He yelled an order and somebody from the outside start to open our tent.

4 thoughts on “Under a new sky – chapter 6

Leave a Reply

