Under a new sky – chapter 11

Note: this is a work of fiction, with all the usual stuff about copyright and permission. It’s also a work in progress and a way to develop my knowledge of the english language. So feel free to correct, debate, laugh, ask about it in the comments. Help appreciated.

You may find the index here.

Chapter eleven.

“You can’t escape. I will not open the lab doors.”

The hologram materialized again, just a yard from us.

“That explosive device is not powerful enough to force your way out. You have to surrender.”

Kellan was scared, I was beyond any definition of rage.

“Shut up. I’m smart enough to take note how things are running here. You don’t open or close the doors, there are depression switches on the floor.”

It was pointless to argue again with a computer. I knew for sure that I simply haven’t enough energy for a second try, I was running on pure rage. So I got one short sword in each hand and I stomped hard on the nearest switch. The opening of the steel doors signaled to the warriors outside to open their side. They didn’t know anything about what we did a few minutes before. As soon they opened I charged with a loud scream, getting them by surprise. I stabbed them both twice in the belly, then I started to run in the direction of the room I’ve seen before, the one where I’ve spotted sunlight. Kellan was right behind me. Of course we were noticed and a number of Hunters started to run in our direction. That was a bad idea. As soon as we got out from the main corridor I tossed the WP in their direction.

White-phosphorus

Phosphor is an useful material. White Phosphor is a thing made in Hell.

When the grenade detonated there were at least ten warriors well within range, maybe ten more a bit way. The lucky ones were killed by the blast or by the fragments. The others started to burn in the worst way possible, it’s impossible to stop WP from burning without proper chemical reagents. That was the price for a bit more time. In less than a minute we reached the room that I was looking for, a small space stacked with wood boxes. There was a window and the force of that blue sun from it. I exposed myself to its light, hoping for a miracle to happen again.

The pain was even harder than before. But this time the passage was far more shorter.

I was a powerhouse again, the pain and the fatigue forgotten in a burst of raw energy.

I ripped off the window frame from the wall, then I picked up Kellan and jumped out. The people outside was shocked, somebody screamed, others run away. There was no time for them. I started to jump again to escape, stomping here and there in the middle of a chaos. The building were we came from was the central part of the fortress, what I needed to do was to reach one of the external walls before some officer got the time to organize a group of archers. Every jump to the wall was harder and higher, the last was enough to put us right on it.

“Kellan! Where I have to go now?”

My own voice was awfully deafening. I simply couldn’t control it.

She was scared to death but was brave enough to point her right hand in a direction. That was enough for me to start jumping again, straight from the top of that wall. I was free!

Leave a Reply

